Every Storm Teaches. Are You Listening?

Timika S Chambers, Writer/Coach
2 min readJul 29, 2021

Whenever there was a storm, my mother instructed us to sit in one room until the storm was over quietly. And, whatever we were doing (eating, fixing a meal, watching television) had to wait until “God was done with His work.” But, what I didn’t know at the time is how this training spilled over in helping all of us handle adversities.

Secretly, I believe we all enjoyed the break from routine. The quiet time gave us all time to reassess our lives. Before resuming our planned activities after the storm, my two brothers, our mother, and I would sit around and tell family bloopers or reveal some new understanding about life issues. Later I realized that although a storm can bring about chaos, it is possible to achieve calmness during a storm. Also, we make the most out of storms by achieving stillness and going within ourselves to bring about revelations, including a new way of handling future storms.

I learned a long time ago that teachers aren’t always fit the stereotype (older man or woman, bald head, if man, fancy robe, mustache or clean shaving, etc.) Not all teachers are human. Sometimes our teachers bring chaos, but it is up to us to take advantage of the still moments. The two family members who misused my developing body were my teachers. With their help, I learned some things about myself, including learning to trust myself and the Voice within.

--

--